Overview

The Visual Privacy tool allows you to easily find elements on your website that you want to track, whitelist, or exclude from being recorded by Mouseflow.

You also have the option to list such elements manually via the Website Settings.

How to use the Visual Privacy Tool

You can find the Visual Privacy Tool on your website settings page, under the Exclude & Whitelist section:

Note: You can learn more about the differences between Excluded, Whitelisted & Tracked Fields in this article.

When you open the Visual Privacy Tool, you will be asked for the URL of the page you want to customize tracking for:

Note: The Visual Privacy Tool can only be launched on pages where you have installed the Mouseflow tracking code. Additionally, if there is cookie content on the page, you need to first accept cookies for the Visual Privacy Tool to open.

The Visual Privacy Tool appears as a section in the lower part of your browser window on the selected page. You can then use the cursor to select which elements to exclude, whitelist, or start tracking:

  • If you wish to navigate to a different page, you can do so by pressing the "Hide to navigate" button.

  • You can also remove individual selections by hovering your cursor over the selection you wish to remove, and clicking.

To save your selection, click the Save and close button as well as the Save button under the Exclude & Whitelist section on your website settings page.

To cancel your selection, you can click the Close Privacy Tool button.


Video tutorial

Mouseflow Privacy Settings and the Visual Privacy Tool

For more information about the Privacy Settings, please see here.

Things to remember

  • If you add a single element to both Excluded Content and Whitelisted fields, the element will be excluded because the Excluded Content setting takes precedence.

  • The Visual Privacy Tool works by finding the Selector Path of your selected elements - if these Selector Paths change, this will affect exclusion/whitelisting. For example, if your website dynamically generates class names and ids for your HTML, this will have an effect on excluded/whitelisted content.

  • Excluding content will hide that content entirely from our service. The content will never be recorded by us, sent to our servers, or saved by us anywhere. It's completely hidden from us.

  • Excluding or whitelisting content will only work for new data, made after you've saved your changes. You cannot exclude or whitelist content on existing heatmaps and recordings.

  • Excluding content can impact the height of the recorded page in our heatmaps and recordings. You might see misaligned clicks when the users click the area where they saw the excluded content. We recommend excluding as little as possible. So in the example above, you should exclude the content of the box, and not the box itself.

  • It is best to load the Visual Privacy Tool on a desktop device. If the browser window is too small, the Visual Privacy Tool will not load.

Did this answer your question?